District of Innovation (DOI)

The District of Innovation concept, passed during the 84th Legislative Session in House Bill 1842, gives traditional independent school districts most of the flexibilities available to Texas’ open-enrollment charter schools. The flexibility derives from the district’s ability to exempt itself from state mandates that may limit its ability to implement innovative ideas. The potential benefits of becoming a District of Innovation include increased local control to decide which flexibilities best suit local needs, freedom in customizing an innovation plan, and autonomy in that the innovation plan does not require state approval. 

The term of the plan is for five years, beginning December 19, 2023, and ending December 19, 2028, unless terminated or amended earlier by the board of trustees in accordance with the law. If, within the term of this plan, other areas of operations are to be considered for flexibility as part of HB 1842, the board will appoint a new committee to consider and propose additional exemptions in the form of an amendment to the plan. Any amendment adopted by the board will not extend the term of this plan. The district may not implement two separate plans at any one time.

Uniform Start Date

Uniform Start Date - Texas Education Code §25.0811

Current Statute
Proposed Statute

Affected Regulation and Policy

(EB Legal/Local)

2023–2024 Committee

RJ Alvarado
Executive Director of Safety, Security, and Student Services

Korinne Caruso
Assistant Professor Del Mar College

Marcy Davis
West Oso Elementary School Principal

Margaret Dechant
Associate Vice President for School and Community Relations Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi

Belinda Gamez
Director of Human Resources

Rhonda Garcia
Assessment, Accountability & Advanced Academics Coordinator

Gregorio Garza
West Oso Elementary School Paraprofessional

Kimberly Hamling
West Oso Elementary School Teacher

Olga Mendez
Chief Financial Officer

Kimberly Moore

Dana Moore
West Oso Junior High School Principal

Dr. Roana Rivera
Director of Special Education

Luis Rodriguez
Workforce Solutions of the Coastal Bend Career & Education Outreach Specialist

Pauline Teran
TCOM Regional Project Manager, AEP

Ann Vlach
Director of Programs and Operations, Education to Employment Partners